Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Coil frying?
914World.com > The 914 Forums > The Paddock
kart54
I posted this in the garage section and got no response so I thgought I would try here. Working on the race car last night I flipped my main power switch to test something else I was doing. After a couple of minutes I heard the oil in the coil making noise. When I jumped out of the cockpit and went to the engine compartment I found the coil was so hot it burned my fingers.
What will cause a coil to burn like that? Is it a fault within the coil itself or something external?
The coil was an MSD blaster 2 and my ignition is a Crane XR700 optical with rev limiter.
I went out today and got a new coil but I want to make sure I'm not going to fry this one as well by just installing it. Anything I should check first?
Any help greatly appreciated.
Thanks
Randy
Matt Romanowski
I have no experience with the crane system, but is it likes points were you can't leave the ignition on?

If everything was fine before, I would guess that it was triggering the "points" and that is what fried the coil. I'm sure there are people here better at electronics than me. Hope this helps.
byndbad914
QUOTE(kart54 @ Jan 17 2007, 02:04 PM) *

I posted this in the garage section and got no response so I thgought I would try here. Working on the race car last night I flipped my main power switch to test something else I was doing. After a couple of minutes I heard the oil in the coil making noise. When I jumped out of the cockpit and went to the engine compartment I found the coil was so hot it burned my fingers.
What will cause a coil to burn like that? Is it a fault within the coil itself or something external?
The coil was an MSD blaster 2 and my ignition is a Crane XR700 optical with rev limiter.
I went out today and got a new coil but I want to make sure I'm not going to fry this one as well by just installing it. Anything I should check first?
Any help greatly appreciated.
Thanks