Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: starter problem
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
FB914
I just replaced my original starter with a rebuilt unit and the car still isn't turning over. Power is OK - battery is charged, I hear the fuel pump start pumping when I turn the key then nothing. What do I do next? Thanks
So.Cal.914
Reach up from underneath (car out of gear or up on JS's) and bridge the solo

noid to main power cable from battery to starter. Jump it and see if starter works.

If so check wire from solonoid to switch. If good test switch itself. Let us know.

I would check the ground straps also.
FB914
So I jump the solenoid to the starter with a piece of wire or can I use a screw driver or wrench? I'm new at this so forgive a dumb question - the solenoid is attached to the starter right? There is a ground strap from the tranny to the body that appears intact. How do I check the switch?
Rand
QUOTE(FB914 @ Feb 3 2007, 02:37 PM) *

So I jump the solenoid to the starter with a piece of wire or can I use a screw driver or wrench? I'm new at this so forgive a dumb question - the solenoid is attached to the starter right? There is a ground strap from the tranny to the body that appears intact. How do I check the switch?

Double-check car is in neutral first of course. Screwdriver, not wire. From red to green arrow in photo...

IPB Image
cooltimes
QUOTE(FB914 @ Feb 3 2007, 04:02 PM) *

I just replaced my original starter with a rebuilt unit and the car still isn't turning over. Power is OK - battery is charged, I hear the fuel pump start pumping when I turn the key then nothing. What do I do next? Thanks

Maybe two of the wires are connected at the wrong place on the solenoid. Yellow wire goes by itself on the very top spade at the top of the solenoid.
Get those backwards and it won't start.
Photo shows it. Photo courtesy of Rand when I had a starter problem.

Mike Cooley

Click to view attachment
SirAndy