Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: New wrinkle at B-J
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
boxstr
Barrett Jackson, The Truth... Tom P (Login tomposthuma)
Members

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I recieved this...

" Barrett Jackson fraud claimed

>This was forwarded to me by a buddy in the business. Not sure of the
>validity, but it definitely makes you wonder....
>
> January 27th, 2007 by fourwheeldrift
>As a collector car journalist, I have been watching the Barrett-Jackson
>auction for years. For the last five or so years, it has been very
>apparent that the Scottsdale auction is at best a bastion of greed and
>manipulation...and at worse, all-out fraud.
>
>I've discussed B-J with collectors, dealers and enthusiasts, many of
>whom would be considered "insiders," meaning they've bought and sold
>cars at B-J and other auctions, or are well-known in the collector car
>hobby. For some reason, it is this year that people are all finally
>grumbling and passing rumors in unison.
>
>The bottom line is that Craig Jackson and the B-J company have really
>screwed themselves this year. Their contracts specifically promise
>every car three minutes on the stand. Due to ego and greed, they
>expanded the Scottsdale '07 auction to the point they could not provide
>this, plus they had the audacity to do it on live television.
>
>A well-known former head judge in the Ford Thunderbird circles was one
>of the sellers who had his car short-timed. He has already filed a law
>suit against B-J, and this is already headed towards class-action status.
>According to this judge and other sources, it appears Barrett-Jackson
>was operating a bit on the same level as an evangelical healing show.
>They had assistants milling around asking what specific sellers thought
>their cars would bring. Armed with this information at the control
>desk, if a lot passed the value at which a seller indicated he'd be