Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: German License Plate
914World.com > The 914 Forums > Originality and History
swm914
Hi, I'm new to 914's. Often I see sharp looking German license plates on the front of 914's. Where is a good place to buy one, possibly with cutomized letters/numbers etc. that is of the quality one would want to put on a sharp 914. I've seen some chessy looking ones and that is not what I have in mind. Another thought was trying to get a real plate possibly from my year? (1974) Any thoughts, comments or advice appreciated. Thanks
Steve
mrgreenjeans
QUOTE(swm914 @ Feb 10 2007, 03:26 PM) *

Hi, I'm new to 914's. Often I see sharp looking German license plates on the front of 914's. Where is a good place to buy one, possibly with cutomized letters/numbers etc. that is of the quality one would want to put on a sharp 914. I've seen some chessy looking ones and that is not what I have in mind. Another thought was trying to get a real plate possibly from my year? (1974) Any thoughts, comments or advice appreciated. Thanks
Steve

There are sites on ebay selling old German license plates for our German cars......BUT , they often do NOT fit on the American spec vehicles because their plate size is different. Meaning Longer. Some of the Oval sized plates do fit, as I believe they were a German plate for export use only....given to those with Euro delivery packages. Or to be used while you toured around their country after picking up the car at the factory. I have purchased several on ebay and other auctions, and you will find that the plates have been altered in the area of the seals, as this renders them null and void and for deco purposes or novelty use only. BUT, there are also guys selling replicated seals, to put on over the damaged or scraped off areas, to make them look whole again.