Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Mazda RX 7 Oil Cooler
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
SLITS
I have been told by a budding engineer type that using the Mazda RX7 Oil Cooler with internal thermostat will require removal of the thermostat.

My question is WHY?

The thermostat bypasses the cooler until operating temp is reached, so what is the difference between the internal one and an external one?

Oh, cooler will be installed on the scavenge line of a /6 as if it makes any difference.

RON S.
Slits,

I am no expert on heat transfer,but I did acquire several xr7 coolers.

I cut one of them open for the same reason,and I found that the thermostat is a pretty big restriction if you cut it apart and look at it up close.

All the oil that passes thru it goes thru a hole less than 1/2" diameter.Also,every other tube has a aluminum strip thru it to slow oil flow even further.

I gutted mine and made removable end caps but I left the restriction strips still in the tubes.

If mine ever starts to run to hot,I will remove a few of the strips allowing more flow thru the cooler to help things out.

Also,if the oil is allowed to heat up to 180deg. up front at the cooler,how hot will it be up to back at the engine. idea.gif

here's some pics of my setup.

Ron
PRS914-6
I'm with Ron. This topic has been brought up before, that is where to mount the components of an oil system. I'm no expert but I like the thermostat mounted as close to the engine oil outlet as possible. That way you get the fastest response time after a hard run. Maybe I'm anal....

Click to view attachment
SLITS
Thanks Ron ..... your cutaway shows what I wanted to know.

Most of the thermostats on the market I see are 1/2" and as such would present a restriction anyway.

When I was looking for this cooler, I was actually wanting an early RX 4 / 7 without the thermostat, but for $26 I couldn't pass it up.