Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Oil Cooler Seals Change for Newbie
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
meador36
ok I have read what Pelican had listed on changing the oil cooler seals I just wanted to check with you guys to see if you have any advise. I'm new to the 914 and I love it. Oh its a 1.7 1970. Thanks
type47
welcome.png

and get ready for your first wise-ass but all in fun answer.

don't change 'em if they don't leak.

and if you think they're leaking, make sure it's not the oil pressure sender just above the cooler.
r_towle
I would advise that you learn how to remove and replace the motor...
Its really the best way to replace ALL the oil leak/seals in one session.

In the future you will take out the motor in 30-45 min..no sweat...so you really need to learn anyways...its all part of the fun..

when its out, you can easily do the oil cooler seals, the push rod tube seals, front and rear seals....adjust the valves, clean all the nests (yes nests) out from under the engine tin...

All sorts of basic stuff that is done when you first buy one of these cars..and its really quite simple stuff.

Rich
meador36
Didnt know about the sender I'll have to check that thanks. And yes it leaks (I expect some) Now I want to drive it 100 miles a day round trip so thought it might be time to fix that.
meador36
I've never pulled a motor out before just fixed everything with the motor in the vechile. Sounds like alot of work.
ClayPerrine
You can replace the oil cooler seals (and even replace the whole cooler) with the engine in the car.

But I agree, the car is new to you, so you should pull it and strip the tin. Then reseal it (the seals are cheap), adjust the valves, and clean up the engine in general.

BTW... welcome.png
type47
ignore this
type47
how do you delete a post?
jimkelly
delete - seems like feature gone despite FAQ below

--

Deleting a thread or an ad that you created is really easy.
Follow these simple steps: