Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Speakers
914World.com > The 914 Forums > Originality and History
Johny Blackstain
I was curious as to what everyone recommends for stereo speakers that sound OK, fit & are concours acceptable? All thoughts welcome & being an audio engineer I'm sorry to tell everyone that speakers deteriorate over time just like tires & seals headbang.gif . This is happening to your home speakers as well & is unfortunately normal. Anyway, what's good, fits & will pass judging huh.gif ?

McMark
Johny, I haven't got any advice for you, but I would be curious to know/see what stock speakers looked like.
Johny Blackstain
Actually so would I. The LE did not come w/ a stereo & my Father & I installed one around 1975 (some Japanese AM/FM stereo), I don't have it anymore. I now have a Blaupunkt AM/FM/CD in her... not very concours. I have matching coax speakers that fit but also stand out & actually cracked one of my grills. Really don't sound that great either, & the car it'self has a lot to do w/ that. Bought a replacement grill on eBay & was going to futz w/ that after I settle in my new digs. Perhaps I'll post some info on that when I get to it. Also thinking I should put the CD in the 6 & get an antique Blaupunkt ($$$) for the LE. A cheap & simple replacement speaker they sell @ Radio Shack nationwide fits best however sounds like tin. I think it's a 4x6 or 3x5 & is under $30 for the pair.
Pat Garvey
QUOTE(McMark @ Mar 19 2007, 02:40 AM) *

Johny, I haven't got any advice for you, but I would be curious to know/see what stock speakers looked like.

Mark,

I'll take some pics & send them along.

Super stock only. They're not great, they work, and who listens to the radio in a Porsche anyway? You don't want to hear those glorious noises behid you?

Anyway, I'm off for a photo session.
Pat
orthobiz