Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Leaving my mark everywhere
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
rigglet
I'm not new to the air-cooled engine (I've rebuilt/restored my fair share of VWs), but I am new to the type 4 engine. I have an oil leak...or two...or three. I have recently replaced the push rod tube seals and the valve cover gaskets, but she continues to drop oil everywhere. It doesn't seem to be a terrible leak, but any oil leak is too much for me. What else are some trouble spots for these motors?

BTW, this is a stock 1.7. However it sat for some time (about a year) without being run and I'm not too sure about the maintenance that was done prior to my purchasing the car. My guess is that an engine drop is in my future, but maybe I will get lucky. rolleyes.gif
ChicagoChris
Sometimes I think they wait untill you leave then just spit out oil to mess with you. Several of mine had a leak from the oil pump.

Chris
JohnM
Check the oil cooler seals. Search archives on how to change with engine in car. (BTDT) Will make oil look like it is coming from a lot of places, but once you look up in that area with a bright light you can tell if it is the seals leaking. Ensure 3 oil cooler nuts are properly tightened and that the bracket on the far end of the cooler is attached properly and bolted to the fan housing! (cause of my seals going bad) Also have heard the plastic part of the oil pressure sender (on top of engine next to distributor) will crack and leak- should be easy to check that. John
LowGT
Oil pump, oil cooler, fan seal, rear main seal, taco plate, strainer plate.... or you could have the mystifying bad trans input shaft seal like I did. Boy does that thing make a mess.
Dave_Darling
Trans input shaft seal will leak gear oil. Smells horrible--sulfurous, like rotting eggs.

A fun one is the pulley bolt for the thermostat cable. If the bolt is missing, it will leak oil out--but only when the engine is running!

--DD
rigglet