Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: OT: Barn Find - 1972 Datsun 240Z
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
Midtowner
True Story:
Friend of the family is an electrican by trade. A few years ago, he is doing work for a residence in the SF Bay Area and sees a 240Z in the garage with junk piled all over. Orange w/ white-black interior. 28,000 original miles. No mods. All standard. No pics yet.

Owners are an elderly couple. Car used to belong to the son. He offers to buy it but is declined.

Then late-2005, he receives a call from the elderly wife. Husband passed away. She is moving to Colorado and looking to get rid of the car.

And the best part: He gets it for....

...FREE! rocking nana.gif
blitZ
Nice find, however, Zs suffer from the same rust ailments as most older cars. I've been seeing quite a few older Zs being restored lately.
sjhowitson
thisthreadisworthlesswithoutpics.gif
I love those Z cars. What a great find.
orthobiz
Back in the 1970's my cousin, an orthopaedic resident at a city hospital rendering free care in the clinic, fixed a guy with a herniated lumbar disc. Performed a successful laminectomy. Patient had no job at the time but did well after surgery and was able to eventually resume work as a mechanic. Over the next five years, the patient worked his way up wheeling and dealing. He developed a successful auto repair business to the point where the bank lent him money to buy a fully equipped shop.

He remembered my cousin, tracked him down (now my cousin was just starting out in private practice) because this patient wanted to "thank" him for "giving him back his life." (In NYC you're just happy when the "thank you" isn't the barrel end of a handgun!)

Anyway, as part of the purchase of the garage, a certain Maserati (can't remember which model) went with it and this former patient actually gave the car to my cousin as a gift. Another free car story!

Paul
Twystd1
I had one back in the day set up for scca B stock class.