Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Accelerator Cable Install
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
MiddleGACruiser
I installed a new accelerator cable after rolling over the old one and breaking it. sad.gif When installing the new one I broke it at the firewall blink.gif (cheaper construction that the old one). Seems like it would be an easy job but I've already proven that wrong. screwy.gif Is there a specific way to install this so I don't break the replacement? idea.gif
r_towle
Well, I have done two, but I am no expert.
I always fish in the section that goes into the car first so the rest of the cable and sheath is heading straight out the back...I can wiggle it that way..

then once its actually hooked up to the pedal, I gently bend the sheathed part (mind you I have the rear of the car way up in the air on jack stands) up through the hole in the engine tray on the passengers side, and then get up and finish installing it from above, tie into the plenum, and finally the throttle body connection.

Rich
Pat Garvey
QUOTE(r_towle @ Apr 4 2007, 08:20 PM) *

Well, I have done two, but I am no expert.
I always fish in the section that goes into the car first so the rest of the cable and sheath is heading straight out the back...I can wiggle it that way..

then once its actually hooked up to the pedal, I gently bend the sheathed part (mind you I have the rear of the car way up in the air on jack stands) up through the hole in the engine tray on the passengers side, and then get up and finish installing it from above, tie into the plenum, and finally the throttle body connection.

Rich

Agree that this is the way to go, but you still have to be a contortionist with zero body fat to make it all connect inside the cabin. Good thing they last a long time!
MiddleGACruiser