Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Tow Bar / Hitch Height ?
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
yarin
Here is a pic of my tow bar setup on my Yukon with a 4" drop mount. I want to make sure the range of motion is acceptable and it won't bind up. (ie: Yukon goes over speed bump, 914 is till at ground level). Notice in a free hanging state the range of motion holds the bar 1" off the ground. Should I get a 6" drop mount?

Thanks

Also, do I need to grease the ball or anything?

BTW - the tow bar method worked really well. I towed it to an autocross yesterday, absolutely a piece of cake! Really glad I didn't drive it given that I have no windows or heat and it was 32F out.

Ferg
I'm no expert, but yes, you need a bigger drop!

Gint has a HUGE drop 8-10??? behind his Titan.

Ferg
Aaron Cox
i used a 4" drop on my nissan frontier..... gonna go with a 6"

trying to get the tow bar as low as possible, as when i hit the brakes hard (panic stop) the car pushed the rear of the truck up.... limiting braking ability, and making it a bit squirley.
Gint
QUOTE(Ferg @ Apr 9 2007, 09:54 AM) *

Ferg
Mine is 11" and it still is long enough. wink.gif

That might be OK. Hook it up to the tow bar bracket on the car and see how close to level you are. You might want more drop. Having your tow bar level is ideal. Doesn't strictly have to be level, but that's where you'd like to be.
Aaron Cox
QUOTE(Gint @ Apr 9 2007, 11:59 AM) *

QUOTE(Ferg @ Apr 9 2007, 09:54 AM) *

Ferg

That might be OK. Hook it up to the tow bar bracket on the car and see how close to level you are. You might want more drop. Having your tow bar level is ideal. Doesn't strictly have to be level, but that's where you'd like to be.

agree.gif phrase better than i put it.