Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Exhausting questions
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
Mark Henry
I have a set of 2L stainless steel heat exchangers that came off of a parts car. They are in good shape except for the flange’s that bolts to the muffler. The flange’s are made of mild steel and are rusted bad and must be replaced. Is there a reason why every thing is SS but these flanges? How hard would be to make new ones out of stainless? Making them out of mild steel would be no problem for me, but I’ve never used stainless before.

Also how hard would it be to make a muffler or header out of stainless? Has anyone done this? How good are the Dansk mufflers? I can get stainless parts here’s one source:
Mark Henry
Could figure out how to edit my post. Here is that stainless tube source:

http://www.burnsstainless.com/
Bleyseng
Here is a pic of the Mittlemotor Stainless muffler. It's supposed to add 3-4 hp and sound nice. Price around $350. This is the only stainless muffler I know of right now.
Geoff cool.gif
Brad Roberts
Send them to me.

The last ones made with mild steel flanges for the mufflers went out the door in early 1978.

I would say...somebody got some use out of them.

For a very minimal fee.. we can weld the later flanges on them.

SSI C/O Brad Roberts
20 Pamaron Way
Novato, Ca. 94949
DuckRyder
Brad, can you replace the flanges on non ssi or non-stainless exchangers as well?

Mark, I'm reasonably impressed with the dansk muffler, it seems to be a nicely made part.

IPB Image

IPB Image
Mark Henry
Here’s a shot of my exchangers, are they SSI? I don’t know if you got my email Brad, shipping from Canada and back is going to be like $200. I was wondering if you would just sell the flanges? How much?
Could you also tell me how much if I did send them to you for repair?
Shoot me an email with the $ figures, Thanks.