Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Newbie here...
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
RohJay
Hi there,

Just want to introduce myself. I am located in Sri Lanka and I just purchased a 914 from Australia. It's a '70, but with 2.0 FI eng and converted to Right Hand Drive.

This is my 2nd foray into 914s. My first was a '74 2.0 while attending college in St. Louis MO from '92 - '96. That car was AX prepped by the PO. I had to sell it, reluctantly, as I was returning home after graduation. By far the most fun car i've owned; it had obviously made a lasting impression on me.

Well after more than ten years , last month I finally decided i was going to get myself a 914 again. Since there are absolutely NO 914s here, I would have to import one. After countless hours of internet search, I finally settled on this car from Australia. Although I could have sourced a car somewhat cheaper from the US, geographic proximity and mandatory RHD requirement made sense to go with this.

I also own an '89 944 S2 (the only 944 in the country) and a fully restored '53 VW Oval. I had to sell-off my fully restored '59 Karmann-Ghia coupe to facilitate the 914 purchase.

It will take about a month for the car to reach me. Once it does, I'm sure I will have plenty of questions for the forum.... Till then here's some photos from the seller:
BMXerror
welcome.png I would love to have one of those over here in the States. Good looking car.
Mark D.
jasons
welcome.png

Cool Car with the RHD, I own an S2 as well. But not the only one in the USA biggrin.gif
JPB
Cool car and if the notion of not having any speed limits in SRI as well as having many winding roads, then you are envied by everyone here. welcome.png
dr914@autoatlanta.com
certainly congrats! Very expensive to convert to right hand drive that is for sure!
Coy
That is so completely cool!
Congratulations!
So.Cal.914
welcome.png

It will be a very nice car once you get the steeringwheel location handled. smile.gif