Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: We Need an INSURABLE IDENTITY
914World.com > The 914 Forums > Events Forum > Past Event Planning Threads
rick 918-S
[B]If we are going to consider having an event separate from any other group and need to get our own insurance we need to form a official club. This consists of a board or oganizing group with elected officers, we need to have official meetings and have notes published. We need a treasurer, we need to apply for a non-profit status and file with the government.

Otherwise we need to get under PCA's umbrella incase it rains law suits. IE; the band that lite the bar on fire with the pyro tecnics.

Thoughts? Observations? Suggestions? Anyone?
JeffBowlsby
How far can we go (how much can we get away with?) without requiring all that bureaucracy?

For examples:

I work in the construction industry in an area of practice where lawsuits are rampant. I see it everyday...a named party in a suit gets dropped because they have no assets/money/INSURANCE. No blood in turnips you know.

For our 914 breakfasts and drives, they are origanized to the extent that an email notice is sent out telling of the time and agenda. On the drives, everyone is personally responsible for their own driving eating habits...and any damages they may cause to any other party. There is no 'organization' to sue becasue they are simply a group of individuals representing only themselves.

Now I am sure that a venue to host the size of this event will probably demand insurance from some viable entity or the event won't happen, which is why an organization was proposed. So maybe we need to rethink a few things.

If we reserved a gropup campsite/beach somewhere (assuming there is one large enough to handle 100 cars) would we need insurance? That doesnt address teh autocross or vendors...(maybe the vendors provide their own insurance?)