Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: How stiff can you go
914World.com > The 914 Forums > The Paddock
brilliantrot
So I am just begining to see why people always sa race cars are never done. I just ran my first autocross on track tires (Nitto NT-01s) and now my previously perfect handeling car lifts front wheels way into the air. Corner workers were saying as high as six inches!!! Now I am NO expert but this leads me to believe that there is still a considerable amount of time to be had if I can keep the wheels on or alot nearer to the ground. My question is how stiff to go in the rears. I currently have #140 Weltmeisters on the back and stock front torshens with a H&H 19mm ajustable front sway bar set one hole from soft leaving two stiffer settings (four holes total). I am thinking #175 or #200 2.5inch springs on ajustable perches. Any suggestions? Will ajusting the front bar to full stiff be enough to counteract springs this stiff? This is for a strictly autocross car that only gets driven to events and on the occassional sunny day. Also it has a six pt. cage.
Any input will be appriciated since I would only like to buy one more set of springs.
john rogers
The way it was explained to me was "if a corner lifts up, push down from the opposite diagonal corner". I use Goodyear slicks and the other vintage racers that use the various brands of race tires use 250# to 300# rear springs. I tried 250# but ended up with 300# to make the car sit flat and it does on high G-force turns. Since you went with much stickier tires, the changes to your suspension are just beginning probably......
brilliantrot
What does one do about the front if #300 springs are used? I think #300 is probably too mutch for my car as it only has 205 tires and a 125ish hp 1911.
Joe Ricard
Well I just jumped up to 300lb rears, This is up from 200's
I have much better shocks and much stickier 11" wide slicks Than ever before.

22mm front weltmiester bar and 21mm T bars.