Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Open Car Trailer Advice
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage

All, since I have no knowledge of car trailers.. any advice out there?

Here's some questons that I HAVE:
* Who and why one brand vs another
* Price points that I should be aware of
* Surge brakes vs elec
* 2 inch ball vs 2 5/16
* alum vs steel

And any other useful info.. currently looking at trailex @ 7 k for an open trailer.

Ok experts..

messix
wow where to start?

you get what you pay for.

look for a c-channel or box tube frame, bigger thicker the better.
some have the deck support made from flimsy angle iron[ bad].
surge brakes will be more $. electric is fine.
2" ball ok if max out under 5k lbs, i would want to trust 10k on less than 2 5/16" although the key is the shank size [the part that bolts to the hitch and slides into the receiver]
steel will cost alot less, but weigh more.

things that you want that are usually extra cost, brakes on both axels, tie down points on the deck or on the deck side, ramps, treated decking. beaver tail, backend slants down to make loading low clearance easier.

thats all i could think off right now.
messix
just looked at the trailex.... spendy !
Van914
Trailex is what I have. Many advantages to Alum. trailers.
Weigh less
1 person can move it around
Tow vehiecle can be a V6
Mine tows great at 70 - 75 with my MDX
Look for a used one

Good luck
Van914
BarberDave
smilie_pokal.gif
My 2 cents:

16 ft. if you are only using for a 914 the 18ft. is way to big.
Toolbox or something on the front to protect the trailered vihicle from
road debris thrown up by wheels of the tow vihicle.
Also front half of the floor covered with Alum. plate for the same
reason as above.

Surge or elec. brakes???? I for one would like more discusion here

on the pro and con of both. Brakes are a bad place to cheap out!!!!

Lights ,l are L.E.D. standard or optional , if optional worth the extra