Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: The difference between Early and Late Exhaust Systems, a Visual Guide
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
newto914s
This is my first attempt at actually contributing to this site smile.gif
A brief write up on the difference between early(70-74) and late(75-76) style exhaust systems, with many pictures for you visual learners.
We'll start the Heater Box
Arranged top to bottom.
e1.7
e2.0
L2.0 all passenger sides
Click to view attachment
Note the separate collector for the later style.
Also note the bend in the 1.7 differentiating it from the e2.0
Click to view attachment
newto914s
Now to show the ID of the tubing, Keep in mind these are all used and are not perfectly true(margin of error), but you can still see a notable difference between the Stainless steel early style and the later ID
e1.7
Click to view attachment
e2.0
Click to view attachment
L2.0
Click to view attachment
Muffler mount flanges.
e1.7
Click to view attachment
e2.0
Click to view attachment
L2.0
Click to view attachment
newto914s
Air guide hardware, S and J-tubes on the left for Early style and the one Piece for the Later styleClick to view attachment
As mounted with Flapper boxes in place.
Click to view attachment
newto914s
Muffler hangers, picture courtesy of Rhodyguy
Click to view attachment
And the Thread it came from.
newto914s
Various pictures of the Bursch Mufflers for the L2.0 and e1.7 on bottom.
Click to view attachment
Click to view attachment
Click to view attachment
newto914s
Mufflers are near identical differing only by the collector arrangement for obvious reasons, one a 2-1 and the other a 4-2-1. Also note the jumper pipe in the L2.0 for deleting the Cat.
Click to view attachment
newto914s
And lastly the late Stock muffler with Cat in place and O2 sensor of some kind.
newto914s
Well, that's all I've got. I hope that will help someone someday. If you've got a picture of the OME e1.7 and/or e2.0 Banana muffler post it.
Thanks