Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Roller cam
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
Lavanaut
Been reading all over the place about roller cams and their benefits. Though I've even seen pictures of 'em, I can't define exactly what makes them different, or why they allow for performance gains.

I *think* I understand that it's related to "more aggressive" cam lobe profiles..? idea.gif Now if only I knew WTF.gif "more aggressive" means when talking about cam lobes!

Would much appreciate a little clarification...

Thanks
Chris Pincetich
Jake Raby made some for TIV engines, but only his in-house custom builds sad.gif

I'm no expert, but have been reading a lot about them and talked a bit with McMark....basically a normal cam is flat tapped and the ovalish lobe pushes on the flat lifters that move the valves. A roller cam is actually roller lifters...the cam looks normal. The lifters are not flatish where they ride on the camshaft, they have little wheels. This GREATLY reduces friction at the cam lifter interface (ever seen a photo of a worn out cam lobe?). The cam can then be ground more radically, so the valves can open and close faster, which is awesome for performance. So, roller cam is steeper sloped lobes and lifters that roll on the cam surface...it is the whole enchilada.

I want one beerchug.gif
Joe Ricard
Cam lobes do not look normal. the shape is WAY different. The ramp speeds are significantly faster. There is less friction too. SO if the engine is using less power to just turn itself over there will be more to push the car. and it does make more power also.

Lavanaut
Ahhh ok. That makes sense Chris, thanks. Yep, it's Jake's work I've been reading about while grappling constantly with the future of my teener, or the the acquisition of the one I don't yet own. The roller cam deveolpments just make the whole decision that much more "interesting". blink.gif

beerchug.gif
Joe Ricard