Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: What am I Doing?
914World.com > The 914 Forums > Originality and History
Johny Blackstain
Please visit the members VIN page & read about Knikki. Once you've read what she is tell me am I preservation or restoration? I have no fuching idea & it's starting to bother me. I don't know what to do, don't know if what I'm doing is right or wrong. I am a major virgin rookie to this concours stuff.
Pat Garvey
QUOTE(Johny Blackstain @ Jul 17 2007, 08:27 PM) *

Please visit the members VIN page & read about Knikki. Once you've read what she is tell me am I preservation or restoration? I have no fuching idea & it's starting to bother me. I don't know what to do, don't know if what I'm doing is right or wrong. I am a major virgin rookie to this concours stuff.

Al,

I'm convinced you are Preservation. Let's check some things out, and the TOTAL is important:

Has the 914 been repainted, particularly with a color change?

Has the interior been redone?

From what I know of your 914, it is a Preservation candidate, and you should do well. But....get more info from PCA.org. If you can answer "yes" to the two above questions, you may need to move to restoration. If only one yes, you should be OK.

But....I'll defer to Jafsmith on these, since he has the most recent experience.

James?
Pat
Johny Blackstain
Pat- she has been repainted, but to original specs. My interior is truely untouched as in my gauges are still bright orange & have not sun-faded. Almost everything that was not stock has been replaced w/ OEM. There are 3 little melt marks where my Fathers pipe exploded years ago in the centre console & I will not repair them- they are there to remind me the six is mine & the four is still his. But James himself said I belong in restoration? I'm filthy from scraping off old undercoating & respraying new stuff on. I just want to have a target to shoot for. I also downloaded every concours .pdf that I could from PCA.
Jasfsmith