Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: 914-6 GT fast road/track suspension settings
914World.com > The 914 Forums > The Paddock
amallagh
Hi,
I'm just about to have the suspension set up on my 914-6 GT project and wanted to see if anyone had any advice. I have never done this before (my first 914) and was looking for a fast road/track set up. I think the range of settings people seem to talk about on Toe and Caster is fairly small but camber settings vary wildly depending on what people want to do and type of tyres.
I know the theory about track set up and measuring temperatures across the width of the tyre but this car will spend more time on the road than track (albeit I could be called a spirited road driver!), and tracktime ain't cheap !
Suspension components are :-
FRONT -
Sway-a-way 22mm hollow torsion bars
Weltmeister 22mm sway bar
Bilstein shocks
Weltmeister camber plates
Fuchs 7X15s with Goodyear Eagle GSD3 205/50s
REAR -
Weltmeister 140lb springs or 180lb springs available - need to decide which ones are best to use ?
Weltmeister 16mm sway bar
Koni adjustable shocks (yellow)
Stable Energies rear strut tower camber brace.
Weltmeister chassis and suspension arm stiffening kits
Fuchs 8X15s with Goodyear Eagle GSD3 225/50s
Tyres will be

This is what I was planning to do based on some previous indications:-
FRONT -
Toe in(each wheel)- 10'
Camber- 1 degree negative
Caster- 6 degrees
REAR -
Toe in(each wheel)- 15'
Camber- 1.5 degrees negative

#############################################
I think these are the factory settings -
FRONT -
Toe in(combined) 20' +/-10'
Camber- 0 degrees +/-20'
Caster- 6 degrees +/-30'
REAR -
Toe in(each wheel) - 0 degrees +15'
Camber- 30' +/-20' negative
##############################################

I would welcome any advice or opinions. If anyone has any advice on initial settings for the rear Koni shocks then that would be a real bonus. All advice gratefully received and without prejudice.
Andrew
J P Stein