Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Electric short
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
scott356
Greetings all,

I am new to the 914 world site. I have a '73 2.0 which is my fourth 914 I have owned. I also own a '59 356.

I want to see if I can get some feedback on an electrical issue.

I had a bad miss that was on and off. I did a complete tune up and still had the problem.

Then things got crazy.

The engine quit on a drive, turn the key nothing. Just moved some wires around in the engine compartment looking for a loose connection, and she started right up, but with the bad miss or maybe grounding out.

Checked connections back at the house and went for a test drive, ran great. But when I got back and shut the key off, she kept running even with the key out.

Other interesting notes to help: Key works, turning the lights on and off. Starts the car but will not shut off. Hit the breaks and there is a voltage drop of approx. 4 to 5 volts on the volt meter.

Once I was able to shut the engine off by stepping on the breaks.

Not sure where to start with this. Any suggestions?

Much thanks,

Scott
swl
Welcome Scott,

I have a real soft spot for the 356!

When the engine runs on is it normal running or rough running (dieselling). If it is normal running I would really suspect the ignition switch itself - that is the only thing I can think of that might give both symptoms - cut out when not desired and run on. They are common failures but I can't remember any threads where it was still providing 12v with the key off. Usually it is just no power at all.

The voltage drop has me a little stumped - can't think what may have caused that.

A voltmeter might be the place to start. During run on is there 12volts at the positive of the coil? During no run - same question.

Probably not related but Fuel Injection or Carbs
scott356
Thanks for the reply Steve,