Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Change Suspension?
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
Nohair
confused24.gif Hello- I am looking for the years of 911 front suspensions that can be bolted to the 914 front and is it really worth it to go the expense and work - can one just go to bigger brakes on the stock running gear and get the same brakeing power as the car is so light? Is the only thing you get with the 911 set up just bigger brakes and larger torh bars? I am new to the 914 thing although I have been reading about them for way too long!!!
any help would be great
thanks biggrin.gif
Nohair
PeeGreen 914
The biggest reason people do the 911 front is for the five lug, but the brakes, cross member and such help too. You can just use Porterfields or some type race pad to help it bite hard without change any of the hardware.

My front came off a '78. I know you can use '78 and '79. I am not sure all the years you can use though.
hwgunner
I think most people do the conversion for the wheels. Yes that gets you bigger T-bars and brakes but IMHO most people do not need these especially for the street. Best thing to do is to make sure that your current braking system is up to par and working correctly. You might just be amazed at how good it is. beerchug.gif

BTW 69 thru early 89 will bolt up to any 914.
BMXerror
You get plenty of braking power with the stock brakes, but they don't cool as well as the vented 911 brakes. I wouldn't want to road race on non-vented brakes. However, as already mentioned, the main reason to change is if you want to run five lung. This gives you the ability to run big 911 wheels and a lot of rubber on the ground. This is usually done with an increase in power, which is usually about the time for some added braking power as well. If you're running stockish power and not road racing it, you should be fine with 4 lug.