Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Blower in trunk
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
Tom
Blower in the front trunk will not run. Fuses are ok. Other things work in the dash, radio , horn, lights , wipers , etc. What could be the problem. Looked at the Haynes manual, seems like an easy removal per the manual. Looking at it in the car , seems a mite more difficult. Any suggestions for the blower check out and ,or, the control knobs? Looked at the control assembly and can't see how to remove it for testing.
Thanks,
Tom
alpha434
I pulled the blower out of rear of my car and it was seized. Badly seized. I couldn't turn it with a breaker bar.
Lavanaut
I happen to be at the tail end of my project to replace the heater controls in my '74 2.0. What a PITA. Had to pull the fuel tank, blower assembly, etc. As a noob, I felt like I was getting in over my head, but it's all come back together nicely. Not done yet, but close.

Anyway ~ the first thing I'd check is the plug that plugs into the back of the blower assembly. Get a flashlight and shine it on the rear part of the blower on the passenger side. There's a plug that fits into a receptacle on the blower, it's possible (though unlikely) that it has come unplugged. If that's not it, check the electrical connections on the control unit itself. There's are...four connections there if I recall correctly. You'll need to disconnect the control unit from the chassis to pull it out, which is a single 10mm nut on the underside of the control unit, attached to the body. If those connections look okay, your blower could need replacing, and if that's the case I feel for you. Like I said, Haynes lies...it's a pain. dry.gif

I have pics if you need 'em.

Good luck

edit: You'll only be able to pull the control unit out just far enough to check/test the connections. It can't be removed w/o disconnecting the belden cables in the front trunk, which requires pulling the fuel tank and blower assembly.
markb