Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Millermatic 250 PROBLEM !
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
scotty b
For almost a year now EVERY time I go to use my 250, as soon as the arc strikes, the wire immediatly burns back to the tip and I have to break it loose, clean the tip and start over. This has also caused the ruin of several NEW tips dry.gif

Before I get the " you dont have the amps right....you dont have your feed speed right" blah blah blah. Let me say I am a certified welder and have been welding for several years as part of my job.

Now for the REAL problem. I go out today, turn the machine on, start my first spot weld and as usual BLAMMO, wire melts back to the tip....however this time I get NOTHING when I hit the trigger ! No wire feed, no gas flow nothing. NOW for the kicker. The wire stays hot. Hot as in current constantly running to it despite no response from the trigger being pulled. With my limited ( very limited) electrical knowledge I'm GUESSING there is a short in the circuit board? Machine stays powered up,internal breaker has not been tripped. WTF? I have heard the 250 series have been problematic but until this last year mine has been great, other than an unusually harsh arc since new. confused24.gif
Spoke
When I first start up my Millermatic 135 for the first time, I prime the gas by setting the wire feed speed to zero. Thus I assume that the gas has evacuated the entire line since the welder was sitting unused for perhaps weeks or months since my last welding.

So you don't hear anything when you pull the trigger? When I pull the trigger on my 135, I can hear a click and the gas flowing. No click or gas flowing sounds? Also with the tip off, you've made sure the wire is not bound up in the tip and the feed mechanism isn't turnig?

Spoke
sixnotfour
I Have a Hobart and very near the same thing happened, The repair was replace the circut board, That was 1/3 the price of a new welder.