Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: New to the 914 World and I Need HELP building my 1.7
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
dan914
I am new to the 914 World and want to build my 73 914 1.7. I did some research and wanted to purchase a turnkey engine to just swap out with mine and have fun with alot of HP and thats it, however that seems to be way out of my price range.

So now I am looking into building my motor, so I have many questions and am trying to build a plan and am looking for a lot of help from the guys who have been right where I am now.

First I currently have a 73 1.7 FI 5 spd 914, my budget is 4K and I cant go much over that price range. This will be a daily driver so I am looking for the perfect mixture of daily driving with the highest HP I can get for my money.

If I am to build my engine, what kind of machining do I have to do to the block, cylinders ect...and what kind of head work will I need, or is there a good high performance head that will fit my buld?

what parts should be rebuilt, machined, or new?

I have seen engines with 96MM bore and 76MM stroke, and cams with 507 Lift .. 310 Duration, with my engine, but with my engine how do I get the most out of a 1.7?

With upgrades, do I spend the 1K for some Dual Weber carbs, or can I get just as much from a lesser fuel system?

what all do I need to build a 1.7 to where all is compatable for a nice stong HP, and reliable engine. What kind of HP can I expect to get out of a 1.7 build with only 4K

Also is there a turbo you can put on a built 1.7 and if so should the engine build have that in mind if I wanted to ad that at a later date?

Like I said I am Very new to the 914 World and to air cooled engines, All and Any help or advice will be appreciated in helping me with a build plan.
Thanks flag.gif
cooltimes
Being a newbie needs a welcome so welcome.png .