Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: 3D CAD of Type IV engine or 901 Tranny
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
root
I started drawing a 3D CAD image of the type 4 engine but it's a big effort to get the locations of threads, etc.... headbang.gif

Anybody know if there's a 3D file (fairly accurate) out there somewhere? biggrin.gif

My avatar is the crude start I have drawn so far! beer.gif
alpha434
Find a local machine shop with a CMM. Use it to revere engineer key pieces. You can even make a drawing based on the data it collects right away.

Should cost 80 bucks/hour.
root
QUOTE(alpha434 @ Oct 2 2007, 07:30 PM) *

Find a local machine shop with a CMM. Use it to revere engineer key pieces. You can even make a drawing based on the data it collects right away.

Should cost 80 bucks/hour.

I was kinda looking for a 'low-cost' answer. I'm building a motorcycle using the type 4 engine and 901 tranny and want to visualize and scale the project before the fun begins. There's some obviously questionable aspects to it! My budget is tiny so I'm seriously restricted on using state-o-art high tech $$$ technology. I have a friend who has access to a 2D coordinate measuring system but not 3D. I'll just keep on working it the old school way 'till something cheaper comes along! biggrin.gif
jimkelly
new pics

does that reach to the handle bars seem faaaaaaaaaaaaaaar to you : )

http://thekneeslider.com/archives/2005/11/...red-motorcycle/

Dr Evil
Right ON! But, I agree with Jim, ya aint that tall spanky. Maybe you should stick with a 1300 TI engine so you dont have to worry about weight, cooling, cost, etc. It should bolt up to a 901, right?
root
QUOTE(Dr Evil @ Oct 3 2007, 08:17 AM) *

Right ON! But, I agree with Jim, ya aint that tall spanky. Maybe you should stick with a 1300 TI engine so you dont have to worry about weight, cooling, cost, etc. It should bolt up to a 901, right?