Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: A report on my 914/6 conversion project
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
Mike Knox
Dear friends,
Many of you will remember me from the Rennlist boards. I'm still trying to get used to the technology available at 914 World, so please forgive any feaux pas.
Also I have not been able to figure out how to shrink my digital photos to an acceptable size, so I can't post any pictures YET!

My conversion project is inching along. I drove the car into the garage December 2005 to start this conversion. You may recall that I have NO background in auto mechanics, so it's been a steep learning curve. On top of that with two professions (Social Work and Music) I can only devote 4-6 hours on most Saturdays to the project.

It took nearly a year for me to get the engine bay ready and by that I mean repairing the hell hole rust, the rusted through section of the firewall, modifying the OEM engine tin to fit the 3.2, installing the special flywheel, new clutch, and T.O. bearing. Then I had to modify the 901 transmission for the DME electronics, and install a Rich Johnson throttle assembly.

I installed Rich Johnson's front engine mount, and finished rerouting the brake lines. The engine went in in March 2007, I have placed the DME unit, opting for the rear trunk instead of under the passenger seat. The engine/tranny part of the throttle linkage has been done. I decided to go with a front mounted fuel pump, so that meant modifying the 1974, with an access panel in the passenger footwell. Also all the oil lines are made up and plumbed in. I placed my auxiliary oil cooler under the rear trunk next to the transmission. Last week I modified the shift bar so that it clears the OEM heat exchangers.

Things left to do:
1. Thread the new 914/6 throttle cable through the tunnel and to the linkage at the bell crank.
2. Hook up the clutch cable, and hope to God that the flywheel/clutch/TO bearing I installed I did right.