Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Original Color?
914World.com > The 914 Forums > Originality and History
Carofornia_Kid
Hello oh wise ones. A newbie here with a question about my '72 1.7's original color. The riveted Chassis Tag in the LF door jamb says the car's color is L80E (Light Ivory). The color showing through the VIN/Compliance sticker in the LR door jamb clearly shows L13M (Saturn Yellow). Chassis # stampings in the RR trunk, on the RF fender and on the riveted Data Tag on the RF headlight bucket all agree with the Chassis Tag. Every crevice and cavity of the car shows L13M paint. The edges of the "taped-off", Earl Scheib-type yellow repaint of the car reveals a factory original-looking L13M paint. The PO got the girl into an argument with a guardrail, and the LF sheetmetal was replaced (fairly well) from the tire forward and across to the edge of the RF headlight. The red donor sheetmetal is covered with the Earl Scheib-type yellow paint.

Is the Chassis Tag paint code stamping wrong?

And on a tangential note, are the Fuchs-style wheel covers hard to find? Pricey?

Thanks for any help ... smile.gif
SirAndy
thisthreadisworthlesswithoutpics.gif

does the karman tag have the chassis number as well and does it match the rest of the car?

if not, someone might have swapped the plate ...
idea.gif Andy

PS: welcome.png
davep