Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: College student thinking about a 914
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
jester0401
Hi all,
I am a college student, age 19 soon and am thinking about buying and living with a 914 as my daily driver and beyond.
My questions are as fallows

What’s is it like living with a 914 compared to a newer car?
Reliable, power, performance
Is there any thing to consider before buying?

I have read lots and have gained some knowledge about the 914. My friend’s dad owns one and loves it. I have experience as an auto mechanic and have restored a 1986 GMC diesel suburban to running condition, I am currently driving a 1989 Mercedes Benz 190e 2.6 that is beaten and have come to realize that I enjoy driving on the road more. German engineering is a must and would rather pour money into a classic that is more entertaining than my Benz.

Thanks ahead of time,
Jesse
Placerville, Ca
PeeGreen 914
My best friend had a 914 while going to college, but it was in great shape when he bought it. They are a lot of fun, but they are an old car, and as such have old car problems. It would be much more fun than the 190, and you have many fellow teeners in the California area.
Aaron Cox
I am a college student.... and have modified my car to the point where it is impractical for everyday commuting and college life.

Get a very reliable easy on the gas car for everyday driving, and build the car of your dreams on the side and drive it somedays and weekends.

works for me smile.gif
Aaron

I did use it as a DD for 4-5 yrs. Very fun, keep it stock and practical if that is your goal smile.gif
VaccaRabite
I would not suggest one of these cars as a college car.

A fairly nice one is far more expensive then some other beater that will start every day, get better gas mileage, have AC, and you can hear the radio.

If you buy a fixer-upper, you will spend the next few year fixing a car rather then driving it to classes.