Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: original radio?
914World.com > The 914 Forums > Originality and History
slackin' at work
hello everyone. great site. I just bought my second 914. Ive been restoring aircooled VW for about 18 years... sold my last 914 about 7 years ago.

Im wondering what the "correct" radio would be for 72. would it be sapphire (good old vw connection there)??

a picture would be appreciated as well. thanks everyone.
-chris

beer3.gif
jonferns
welcome.png
Porsche Rescue
Not a Sapphire. Although they were dealer installed so hard to tell what might have been. Best bet is a Blaupunkt Frankfurt am/fm of the proper year. I bet Pat Garvey has the "correct" one in his '72 and will soon respond to this thread. Welcome and enjoy your 914. They are a lot of fun.
1970 Neun vierzehn
Chris,
Let me also say, welcome.png
Also note that at the top of this sub-Forum are some "nailed" threads. There is a lot of worthwhile information shared there. Your specific question can be initially addressed by going to the Interior title of these "nailed" threads and look at post #4 by Pat Garvey (our venerated laugh.gif moderator). It shows an example of a proper 1972 914 radio, circa 1972.
Porsche Rescue
And that I believe is a Blaupunkt Frankfurt. If you are really a purist you can probably find the serial number for a '71 or '72 vintage here.

http://www.geocities.com/radioflier.geo/blaupunk.htm

Scroll way down to find Frankfurt to see serial numbers for '71 (probably the production year for a '72 model year car, though could also be '72 production)
slackin' at work
thanks everyone.

I did look through the "nailed" interior thread... but everyone seemed to have something different so I was a little confused.

I didn't know they were a dealer installed item... so now I can see why there was some variation.

still waiting for the new car to get here since I had to have it shipped. So Im doing some preliminary searches for correct stuff I know I need.