Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Newbie with questions?
914World.com > The 914 Forums > The Paddock
jiveturkey
Hi all I am new here and am curious about a few things. I will start with a little background. I have been roadracing motorcycles for several years so I understand the difference between a race machine vs a street machine and the costs that coincide. I purchased a 74 914 2.0 when I was 17 years old (many years ago) only to never get the money or help to finish. It was sold and I have been thinking of buying another ever since.

This will not be my only vehicle but I do want to keep it reliable so I can use it for the occasional commute to work and weekend trips. The other function this car must be capable of is allowing my 12 year old son and I to Auto X on occasion and possibly a track day here and there since I live less than 1.5 hours away from two very nice roadcourses.

Here is what I think I am looking for- I don't like the 74 and up style bumpers, flares are ok but I prefer the stock look, I like the 2.0 motor but would definately entertain a 914/6 conversion car, am willing to do some work but would rather buy one that someone else has spent a lot of money on. biggrin.gif Pretty simple right?

My question- What sort of mods should I be looking for or are mandatory for the uses I listed above? What should I expect to pay? I already know that whatever I go with I don't want a bomb behind me, a nice rebuilt 4 or 6 with some bolt ons are ok but I don't need a 250 Horsepower monster. I learned a long time ago racing bikes that motor is not as important as most think. I like reliability but would also like good handling, good brakes, and nice looks. In particular;
1. R stock Brakes fine for auto x?
2. Will a stock motor and tansaxle take the punishment?
3. What wheels and tires, is the 5 bolt lug conversion needed?
4. Is Stock suspension capable and if not what do you suggest?
5. Are there anyother places to shop for a car?

Thanks, Eric