Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Powder coating quote
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
Doug Leggins
Calling on those of you that are familiar with powder coating. I have never worked with powder coating before. I am looking for some help to determine if the quote is fair.

I took the suspension components to a local powder coater to get a quote. Got a quote of $400. The quote was for both sand blasting and powder coating. The quote was split about 200 for the sandblasting and about 200 for the coating. The sandblasting seemed high to me and the powder coating seemed low. But overall $400 seems ok to me.

I took everything in the pic and both rear trailing arms also.

Here is what I took in for the quote.
suspension protection cover
2 front A arms
the 4 bushing caps for the A arms
2 brackets that go in front of the A arms
2 front struts and 2 tubes
all 4 brake dust shields
aux support
2 half shafts
2 trailing arms
2 trailing arm mounts

The color quoted was gloss black. I couldn't find another color that I thought would look good with Signal Orange.

Do you think that $400 is good/bad for blasting and coating these parts?

Thanks
seanery
I think its a bit too high.
Doug Leggins
Another question

Do I need to re-install the brake dust shields? If they are not needed I will not get them coated.
seanery
no, you don't need them.

The place that coated my stuff did it for $100 /color.
Blasting that stuff would probably be $100 or less I guess. If it's worth the drive you might try 'em.
Doug Leggins
Certainly willing to drive to indy to get the parts coated. I was initially planning on that but then stumbled on this powder coater in Bloomington.

Do you have a good reference for a shop in indy?
seanery
Indy Dry Stripping for the blasting. First class all the way!

the powdercoaters were kinda slow, but my order was small, and the misplaced my front sway bar for a while. But, they were $100/color.
boxsterfan