Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Senior design project
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
Pages: 1, 2
i love porsche
hey everyone, i figured id post this here to see what you all thought

I am a ME student at NJIT and for a senior design project, Myself and 2 other students will be redesigning the front suspension of the 914. the goal of the project will be to optimize the structural rigidity of the control arm while decreasing weight, also to try and optimize the camber curves and adjustability for racing use.

prettymuch we would be designing a racing control arm. depending on the results, this may be something that could go into a production run..who knows

what im asking is for donations of stock parts. A arms, shocks, tie rods...

i want to try and recreate a front corner of the car that will be easy to modulate and work on for demonstration and testing purposes.

so let me know your thoughts/ideas

thanks
Aaron
jd74914
Very cool Aaron!

Are you trying to optimize the current design and keep the stock mounting points, or are you planning on tailoring the mounts to a more optimally designed solution?

Sorry that I don't have any parts to donate.

James
Brando
Design an affordable front-coil-over system smile.gif
d914
if the jersey boys don't cough one up, Ive got a four front end just sitting here..
Borderline
Great Project! Are you going to do any testing??Baseline/improved?? Or are you going to design an adjustable suspension and let us develop it. I'm in the process of modifying my own, so, sorry no parts to donate.

We expect full progress reports aktion035.gif
i love porsche
its going to keep the stock chassis mounting points, but most likely the outer ball joint will be moved for optimization, the reason to keep the stock mounting points is so that it can be a bolt on modification. and im hoping to make it work easitly with both torsion bars and coil overs
rmital
QUOTE(i love porsche @ Nov 12 2007, 04:57 PM) *