Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Anybody got a map for a 2.7L with a SDS EM4 wMSD?
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
p914
Are the MAP settings interchangable between cars?

I have a fresh rebuild with 103 mm pistons, .415 lift 278 duration Scat camshaft, 317cc/min injectors (stock 2.0), EM4 w MSD, 78.4 typeIV crankshaft, Stock 2.0 stroker rods, an Asian Celica GT Intake.

Any other info needed to compare? Right now the system needs a bit of tuning to get it to idle smoother when warmed up so it won't die out when coming down from a high RPM like when you take your foot of the gas and let it drop.

Basically, I'd take the info to my mechanic and he would further tune it.
I'm in the Portland Metro area as far as climate goes.
Does any of this make sense? I'm no mechanic.
Tx
Eddie
Aaron Cox
question.... do stock intake runners support enough air flow for a 2.7?
p914
QUOTE(Aaron Cox @ Nov 13 2007, 03:01 PM) *

question.... do stock intake runners support enough air flow for a 2.7?

A good question that I don't have an answer to.
I am not a mechanic. confused24.gif
jd74914
The engine theoretically flows enough air (assuming the runner ID is 1.25in). Theoretically the engine is pulling in air at about 130mph @7K.

Theoretically max power happens when the air enters at about .4Mach so to achieve this figure the runners should have an ID of about .75 inches.

Note, before people jump on me the above is *theoretically* true for a simple mass balance/mass flow problem. In real life having runners of such size for their entire length (and with a sharp bend at the end) is restrictive; the air is affected by inner friction and other flow problems and chokes itself.