Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Trip to Automobile Atlanta
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
bigkensteele
I visited AA a few weeks ago and started writing this in notepad on the planeride home. I meant to post it long before now, but since the new catalog is on its way, I guess my timing isn't too bad.

The usual disclaimers - I am in no way affiliated with Automobile Atlanta.

I bought my first 914 in '94, not long after I graduated from college. The internet was fairly young, and word of mouth traveled by phone and print, I had formed an opinion of Automobile Atlanta before I ever called them. People told me that they were arrogant, and George was not the nicest guy around. I still ordered a few things from them, since they were the only game in town for 914s at that point in time.

I was in Atlanta for business in '98 or '99 and I had a chance to stop by. I was really hoping to get a look at the 916, the (then thought to be) last 6, the cool concept, and the green car with 5600 miles. When I got there, I was told that I could not get in to see the cars because one had been damaged by a previous visitor. Nobody seemed to care that I had rearranged my schedule to visit. That experience solidified in my mind what I had heard 2nd, 3rd and 4th hand from others. I did very little, if any business with AA from that point on.

When the World came to be, and George started posting, I thought "This doesn't seem the be the same guy that I met 7 years ago". He seems nice, outgoing, and truly dedicated to helping us out.

Another business trip to Atlanta popped up recently, and I emailed George before I arrived. His reply was basically, "come on in, we will show you around". So I spared a couple of hours before my return flight.

I don't know if I caught them on a bad day 8 years ago, or if things have changed, but I could not believe the welcome that I received.