Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Two Questions
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
BMXerror
Okay, first question is simple and on topic. Does anybody know what tap size to use for the VDO oil temp sender?
Second question: I know there are a lot of engineers on this website and some who are familiar with Solidworks. Where did you get your copies? Did you go strait to Solidworks, or through a dealer? What options did you get and how much did you pay? I'm a manufacturing student and am just getting into CAD, but I have some big ideas that I'd like to start laying out in Solidworks, or maybe Inventor (you Inventor guys feel free to chime in too)
Thanks.
Mark D.
Dave_Darling
Use whatever size the threads are on your sender--there are many sizes available.

I think the stock one is M14, but I forget the pitch.

--DD
904svo
Oil tempture sending unit is 10mm x 1, a 1/4-28 NPT will also fit the hole but
don't over tighting it, it will crack the case!
type47
i've always thought the VDO sender that screws into the oil drain plug location was the way to go for a car that never had oil temp gauge. the sender is a bit exposed but it's a screw in application instead of a drill and tap process. that said, i have the taco plate sender in both of my 914's.
Cap'n Krusty
QUOTE(904svo @ Nov 18 2007, 06:25 PM) *

Oil tempture sending unit is 10mm x 1, a 1/4-28 NPT will also fit the hole but
don't over tighting it, it will crack the case!

No, it's not. The oil PRESSURE sender is 10 mm x 1.00, which is very close to 1/8" NPT. I've yet to see one overtightened enough to crack the case, but I'll be the first to admit I haven't met every hack in the world .................. They seem to come right out of the walls when you least expect it. The Cap'n
BMXerror
Okay, nevermind. I just discovered how many sensors that VDO makes. I did find a place to crosscheck part numbers, though, so I can figure out what it is.
Anyone gonna take a stab at the Solidworks question?