Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Dry Ice Blasting.....
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
john111
Hi everyone. I am an engineering student. I read something called dry ice blasting while browsing net. Well I don’t know why, but I am curious to know about it. I know about traditional labor intensive methods like scrapers, wire brushes, sand blasting and pressure washing. I know dry ice is basically solid form of CO2, but I have no clue about this dry ice blasting.
Can somebody throw some light on this or at least suggest some site where I can find some info on this.

John
jd74914
What kind of engineering? I'm a sophomore ME.

And for the actual question: Its just like sandblasting except that instead of sand/glass beads/baking soda you use dry ice pellets. Its theoretically better than the above because the dry ice sublimes and leaves no residue.

I have also heard that the pellets low temperatures help to release paint (ie: normal abrasives scrape it off, while dry ice @ about -80 scrapes it and messes with the paints bonding). This sounds like it could be true, I don't know to what degree it helps though.

As far as blasting equipment goes, theoretically dry ice should be easier on it than most abrasive materials because some of the pellets should sublime around the inner surface of the gun providing a gas buffer.

That's all I know, I'm sure there are some sites on google with tons of info . . .

-James
Dr Evil
No sites, but I did see this on discovery (IIRC). It was AWESOME! I could only hope to find a site that would do that locally. It seems like a new innovation, but the benefits are obvious. I seem to remember them saying that the setup is about $2000, but I bet one could build a set up for less.

welcome.png
sixnotfour
Here is a GT project that was dry ice blasted;
http://www.914world.com/bbs2/index.php?s=&...st&p=477262

manufacture;
http://www.rsg-technologies.com/
mattew72
QUOTE(john111 @ Nov 27 2007, 07:31 PM) *