Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Newbie muffler opinion
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
markwemple
I have a '70 1.7 and am thinking of changing to a "sport" muffler. Opinions on bursch and ansa vs. stock muffler on performance and sound. Thanks!!
highways
I'm no expert, and I don't know the best for a 1.7

But I do know one word: Triad

Bursch is also great

Ansa I think you want to run the other way. But I got one I'll sell you cheap if you didn't read the previous sentence.
Tom
The Triad is great, but I don't thing Dave makes one for the 1.7 or 1.8 style heat ex's. You would need to update to 2.0 ex's or have your 1.7 ex's modified to use a Triad. That's what I did fir my 76. Back dated to 2.0 ex's and a Triad.
Tom
jimkelly
if your exhaust is good - stick with it until it rusts thru.

then bump up to 1.7/1.8 style stainless steel heat exhangers and a bursh.

2.0 SSHE's are hard to find.

jim

Chris Pincetich
I'm sure others will chime in, but from my experience with only the OEM 1.7 muffler and the posts of others, the OEM muffler is quietest and not much drop in performance....the Bursch "collector" does yield minor gains, like 2-5 hp maybe maybe not, BUT anything other than OEM is LOUD.

I went 4->1 headers, 2.5" OD collector to a Flowmaster type muffler. It's WAY better for power and WAY louder. beerchug.gif
welcome.png
markwemple
OK, other than the material it is made from, what is the difference between a stock heat exchanger and a SSI. (I know the difference w/911s but am new to the 914) Thanks!!
jimkelly
more inner diameter due to narrower wall thickness.

i am holding a nickel up to sshe.
Pat Garvey
QUOTE(markwemple @ Dec 11 2007, 05:38 PM) *

I have a '70 1.7 and am thinking of changing to a "sport" muffler. Opinions on bursch and ansa vs. stock muffler on performance and sound. Thanks!!