Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: muffler dimensions
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
jimkelly
see pic
TeenerTim
Are there any differences in the inside diameters of the pipes?
Do the SSI heat exchangers really have a larger ID as some have suggested?

Good info BTW.
flippa
Nice work Jim!

I appologize in advance if this is a total newbie question.

I am going to put a 2.0 in my car, but the entire exhaust system is junk. I have a set of SSI heat exchangers and decent monza muffler which is currently on a 1.7 engine. Will the heat exchangers fit on the 2.0? If so, which muffler would have to be used, a 1.7 or a 2.0? Is the difference in width caused by the engine or by a different shape of the heat exchangers? If the system does in fact fit, would I be restricting the exhaust flow too much by using the 1.7 system?

I would like to reuse the exhaust system I have if I can as the money could be better spent on other parts of the restoration.

Thanks

Larry
TeenerTim
QUOTE(flippa @ Dec 20 2007, 11:01 AM) *

Nice work Jim!

I appologize in advance if this is a total newbie question.

I am going to put a 2.0 in my car, but the entire exhaust system is junk. I have a set of SSI heat exchangers and decent monza muffler which is currently on a 1.7 engine. Will the heat exchangers fit on the 2.0? If so, which muffler would have to be used, a 1.7 or a 2.0? Is the difference in width caused by the engine or by a different shape of the heat exchangers? If the system does in fact fit, would I be restricting the exhaust flow too much by using the 1.7 system?

I would like to reuse the exhaust system I have if I can as the money could be better spent on other parts of the restoration.

Thanks

Larry

Based on the above diagram you need to run the 2.0 muffler with the 2.0 pipes and the 1.7 muffler with the 1.7 pipes.
flippa