Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: OT: HF Leakdown Tester
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
Spoke
Just bought a leakdown tester from Harbor Freight. Anyone have this unit. I've never done a leakdown test so I have no experience with different testers. Is this unit ok? It lists for $39.99 on sale online for $29.99.

HF Leakdown Tester Link

Thanks,
Spoke

lotus_65
QUOTE(Spoke @ Dec 30 2007, 08:56 AM) *

Just bought a leakdown tester from Harbor Freight. Anyone have this unit. I've never done a leakdown test so I have no experience with different testers. Is this unit ok? It lists for $39.99 on sale online for $29.99.

HF Leakdown Tester Link

Thanks,
Spoke

i was going to call them, there's another one there for $39.99

http://www.harborfreight.com/cpi/ctaf/disp...Itemnumber=4317

i don't know what's different. if anyone knows about either one, i'm curious too.
brant
I had one of those.
it wasn't great actually

you need a unit that works at 100psi
If I remember correctly the HF model worked at a much lower psi

I used mine once and had inconsistent readings
I actually returned it

I bought one from summit? (don't remember exactly where I got it honestly)
My current one was around 90$, but works great
and had been put on a half dozen motors now.

brant
SLITS
I have one and it works at 100 psig supply. Thing is, when you set the zero on the percent guage the pressure guage reads about 15 psig.

Just remember to pull the pressure off by rotating the set knob before disconnecting from the cylinder hose or you will move the percentage needle out of calibration (if it's actually calibrated).... The needle will hit the stop and move on the shaft.

There are better units I suppose, but it is functional.... kinda like center console guages.
brant
I just checked those links and both of those units say they have a working range up to 100psi

for some reason the one I bought back then did not...
I kinda remember it was 40psi (maybe 50?)