Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Quick help please!
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
BMXerror
I've never done this before. I've been out there all day trying to figure out how to get the rear hub out. I've got some ridiculous socket/extension setup that I'm absolutely wailing on with a sledge hammer and I can't the stupid hub to move. Is there any trick to this, or is there something I'm missing? According to my manual, there's no retaining clips or anything. It's just a press fit. Is this correct? Please help. It's getting dark and cold. Thanks.
Mark D.
736conver
It is just a press fit.

I've use a 5 pound sledge and it still takes alot of beating to get them out. Kiss those rear bearing goodbye too
davep
I used a wooden dowel (same diameter as the hub shaft) and a BFH.
The dowel sort of gets destroyed and works its way into the splines, but that seems to make it a better tool than it started out as.
If the bearing had serious problems then it may have started to weld itself to the hub, that that would be unusual. If you ar working with it on the car, then the trailing arm may be absorbing a lot of the pounding; in that case you may need to brace the arm in such a way as it will not move.
DanT
takes a lot a effort....
those rear castle nuts are torqued to like 300#s when you finish up so those hubs are sunk in pretty good.
I took the castle nut off of one side and doubled it on each side at a time to give myself a bigger area to get the hub moving( hammer and block of hard wood)...once it was moving then I removed the castle nuts to finish the job

good luck and hope you have a BIG hammer.
BMXerror
Sh*t. So the Bearings are done for after this job?
Mark D.
DanT
possibly, but not necessarily. smile.gif

I was able to reuse mine... biggrin.gif
BMXerror
K... Thanks guys.
Mark D.
Jeffs9146