Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Finally Finished Project
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
jd74914
Hey guys.

I’ve been posting for a few years and have only occasionally put up pictures of my 914 since it has been in great disarray for about 5 years. When I got it, my Dad and I planned to replace the clutch/PP/TOB and run it. The owner told us that the clutch had started slipping so bad that she couldn’t drive it and so she parked it. First it was inside, but then she lost garage space and it had sat outside for the 6 months or so before we had gotten to it.

The car wouldn’t start, but seemed to be in pretty good shape and had an excellent interior so I bought it (for an excellent price too). When I got it home we got it running and then I proceeded to strip the car and look for rust. It turned out there was a bit more rust that I had imagined and most of it was hidden. There were some amazing bondo sculpted door handle recesses and roll bar bases. Besides the all of the fenders had rust lurking below the paint, a lot of the bottom had rusted off and in general a lot of metal needed to be replaced. Oddly enough, the battery box was pretty solid and the hell-hole only needed a few hours of work.

After learning to weld and fixing a lot of metal, the engine was rebuilt back to stock specs. It’s a 1.8 with L-jet. Eventually I plan on swapping a /6 in as we will eventually have a spare 2.4 laying around (my Dad’s 911 is getting an original 2.2E that was actually imported from Germany and matches his grey market car). The tranny was resealed, and I put a new clutch/PP/TOB/flywheel in. In addition to the driveline work the gas tank was redone and the master cylinder was replaced.