Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Center console for tall guys
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
BiG bOgGs
I have been driving my 914 (with center console) for less than six months, and have gone back and forth about my feelings towards the center console. Sometimes I like it there to use as a leg rest while cruising along. Other times I think it would be nice to have some extra leg room. What do you guys who have tried both situations think.

I am 6'4", so opinions from guys around that height are best for me, but feel free to add comments for others who are shorter or taller.

Jim
Rand
It's all about your preference. In my opinion. Hah. Hope that doesn't sound like a double positive. tongue.gif

Some people love the classic center console "option" look. Some prefer what feels right to them instead. For some it depends on your car... Was it a "2.0 option package" and does that matter to you? Some like options and packages, and value the factory relevences of those things.

Other don't give a rip about that, and figure you should do what YOU like.

Most fall somewhere in between.

My car had all those cool "2.0 options" but the rust damage negated it all and I've turned it into WHAT I WANT. (And yes, I'll remove my center console in favor of gauges in the dash, and sell my 2.0 classic Fuchs for some cheapass Cookies. tongue.gif ) HAH! Do what YOU like.

Evaluate your car and it's options.... Take it all into consideration. If you should make choices about your car according to values that are important to some rules about the right thing to do with your car and it's options.... Then go that way. If you aren't convicted as such, then JUST DO WHAT YOU LIKE!!

If you aren't sure what you like, then try it both ways. Pull the console out, without committing to removing the gauges and wiring just yet. If you like the feel of it without the console, then rework the wiring and move the gauges up into the dash.
stateofidleness
hate it!