Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: HELP! Oil in Bay and Trouble Shifting
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
rebelmdot
Good Morning Guru's,

As you see by the date, I am new to this. I started rebuilding a 1976 2.0, and caught the fever so bad I went out and bought two more teeners. One of which is a 1972 1.7 with Carb. I got the car running and have gone for a couple spins. I thought it was ready this a.m. as I finally got a throttle cable issue taken care of, but ran into the following and need your help in diagnosing where to start and what to do.

Could only get into 1st gear while driving this morning and that was rough. This was not the case several days ago when I took it around the block. Gears did not shift like butter then, but could get them in. Where to start on that issue? Car sat for 6 years prior to 3 weeks ago, could pressure plate be rusty and not releasing? Cable issue? Where do I start? Next issue is from back of car facing front. Little oil maybe a table spoon or so is forming on the cooling tin closest to you on right hand side. Couple drips under car as well. Any thoughts are appreciated. I am mechanically challenged, so please be remedial in your responses. Thank you again, this car would not be this far without your help so far. I am at work now, but can take pics of where oil is when I get home.

black73
Not much of a guru, but my guess would be shifter linkage and/or bushings. confused24.gif

The oil could be from valve cover gaskets, push rod tube seals,oil cooler seals,... or all of the above.

Hope this help. Maybe some of the others will weigh in.
rebelmdot
QUOTE(black73 @ Feb 20 2008, 02:56 PM) *

Not much of a guru, but my guess would be shifter linkage and/or bushings. confused24.gif

The oil could be from valve cover gaskets, push rod tube seals,oil cooler seals,... or all of the above.

Hope this help. Maybe some of the others will weigh in.