914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
EyeTrip
Any one have any experience with these?

http://www.cylinderheadshop.co.uk/K-line.html
byndbad914
QUOTE(EyeTrip @ Mar 12 2008, 12:51 PM) *

Any one have any experience with these?

http://www.cylinderheadshop.co.uk/K-line.html

used a bizillion of them when I worked as a cylinder head machinist. Not much reason to use them when you have removable guides tho' like you do in alum heads. Mostly used them in say a 302 Ford head with "cast in" guides. You can either bore the guide completely out and replace it with a guide insert or just open them up a bit, install the K-liner and hone to size.

Actually, the K-liner works very well in that application and many times we preferred to use a K-liner in a stock guide than to bore out the guide and drive in a replacement iron guide. You get small grooves in the K-liner from the gnurling tool that essentially expands the guide into the head to make it "stick". Those small grooves we believed held oil a bit better as we saw guides last much longer with a K-liner than they did stock.
EyeTrip
Thank you for the reply.

I did a pair of T3 heads years ago in a 1835 with a big cam, dual springs and big valves, then I proceeded to beat the crap out of it for 10yrs. I pulled it down for a look and the guides looked and felt like the day I put them in.

I was just looking to see if there is a down side to these. I think my 1.7 daily beater is going to get them.
Cap'n Krusty
If you're not using Technovance guides, IMO, you're wasting your timer and money.

The Cap'n
sww914
Just the part where their page is so poorly written (taking into account the differences between imperial english and american english) scares me. It looks like this product was developed for heads without replaceable guides or heads that are irreplaceable and one would be afraid to try to press out the original guides.
byndbad914
QUOTE(EyeTrip @ Mar 13 2008, 01:38 PM) *