Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Pushrod seals and other questions!
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
stateofidleness
So i FINALLY got my engine torn down to the bare case and ive got the new pushrod seals laying here so naturally I think to myself "you should do the pushrod seals" smile.gif

now to begin, i have NO engine experience whatsoever and the only things i know are from what ive learned from ya'll and my sh*tty haynes manual

im learning this stuff as i go and im loving every minute of it... yes theres frustrating times, but it's worth it!!

now to the nitty gritty...

i dont know what "TDC" means or how to adjust valves... during my searching, i failed to find useful pics of this process... ive come across "quick and dirty" how-to steps, but again, no pics... and my hi-def (sarcasm) pics in my haynes manual arent very helpful...

i already (most likely prematurely) flipped those arm things down and took off the "valve covers" (see im learning) to reveal more parts that i dont know the names of lol

can someone with a lot of time on their hands or someone who has "been there done that" lay it out for me in terms of step by step replacement procedure and some pics to go with it? (things like: places to clean real well, things to watch out for, tips for reinstall) i read a while back where pelican was gonna have a how-to, but its still nonexistent...

thanks so much
Dave_Darling
TDC is "Top Dead Center". It generally means that a given piston is at the top of its travel and that both valves for that cylinder are closed.

You find TDC by looking for marks on the fan and/or flywheel. See the "how to set your timing" tech article on Pelican for the fan marks; they are at the rear of the fan and you just about have to stand on your head in the engine bay to see them without a mirror. The mark on the flywheel can be seen through a notch on the bottom of the transmission where it bolts up to the engine.