Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Novice DE / Track day questions
914World.com > The 914 Forums > The Paddock
GaroldShaffer
I have never done any sort of track day / DE event before. I have two 914's at the moment. biggrin.gif The 1970 Driver /Ax weapon and the NEW (old) FP racecar that will soon have a 2.4 /6 in it.

Both cars have 5 point belts, but if I understand the PCA rules my 70 driver / AX can't be used because 1) I don't have the stock three point belts and 2) I don't have the right seats according to them. I have the Lemans GTS seats in it. I am not interested in spending more $$ on "race seats" and I sure as heck don't see how the old style 3 point belts used in early 914's are better than my 5 point setup.

So to me the old racecar would be the right choice, yes? Well then the only problem I see is as a novice I must have and instructor ride with me, right? Kind of hard to do in a car made for only one person. confused24.gif

Click to view attachment

As I understand you must have X amount of time with and instructor before you are allowed to drive by your self? I like the 70 driver setup the way it is and really don't want to change it, but is that what I have to do?

Now I haven't called anyone about the PCA Rules yet, but I know a lot of you here have ran in these events so I thought I would ask here also.

The drvier /AX weapon driving.gif

Click to view attachment
Crazyhippy
Every event i've been to, if the tech guys think it's safe, it flies.

They have the rules for CYA reasons. Maybe find out who the head tech guy for your region is, and ask him?

BJH
drew365