Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: *Powdercoating Kicks A$$* - Revisited
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
Korijo
Took on the DIY powdercoating "Learning Experience". It is AWESOME !!

Fucked up the clear by putting too much royal blue metal flake in it mad.gif . Gonna Shit Can the metal flake idea...
Korijo
Before the clear...
Gint
That's cool Dave. More pics!
Korijo
the oven...
Korijo
Ratt
So how do you like the rig? Ive been looking at that set-up for awhile. Does it work ok for the price?
Andy
Korijo
linkage tid-bits...
415PB
Looks great. I have been using pretty much the same setup for about 7 months and have been powdercoating everything in site. How long did it take to bake using the propane. I have a couple of ovens and am thinking of going towards propane.
Korijo
Clear on (with flake), looking OK ohmy.gif

Dig Tristen's mohawk ?? laugh.gif
Korijo
Better shot of the clear. The dark parts are the "un-even" metal flake additive.
Korijo
So how do you like the rig? Ive been looking at that set-up for awhile. Does it work ok for the price?

I didn't use it (Damn disease mad.gif ), my FIL and Tristen did. They both wub.gif it. FIL is hooked smile.gif . Works great for $50 wink.gif .

How long did it take to bake using the propane.

Manifolds took 25 - 30 min. Little pieces, 8 min.
redshift
I like the color... metal flakes?!

beerchug.gif

M
Korijo
The light blue is my color base. Add some of the Royal blue metal flake to the clear, and presto - it sucked...

IPB Image
jonwatts
Can we get someone to Photoshop a flame on the tip of Tristan's Mowhawk? laugh.gif

Looks like fun and I'd love to do it someday but for the time being I'm going to send my stuff out to be coated. Costs more but takes less time, and now time is the main issue.
Bleyseng
How can that be Jon? You have been on that car project forever!

Geoff
jonwatts