Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: 914-6 Relay Board
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
lordkobal
I'm a mechanic at a do-everything independent garage. My boss comes up to me one day and asks if I'd like to rebuild a 1970 914-6. The car has no motor or transmission and has been sitting in our back lot for over a year. It is in surprisingly good condition with only minimal rust and decay, and everything (minus the powertrain) seems to be pretty much in-tact. For reference material, I have a (very old) "how-to" shop manual and the internet. I have never worked on a Porsche before, let alone one this old and incomplete.

I am awaiting a freshly rebuilt motor and am going about my preliminary system checks (braking, electrical, etc.). The first thing I noticed is the absence of any relays or fuses on the relay board in the engine compartment. I assume that these were removed along with the original motor. From observation I gather that the body harness plugs into one side of this board and the engine harness into the other. However, I do not know which circuits these relays/fuses complete and the only material I have been able to excavate was a very cryptic and aged (not to mention German-language) schematic on the internet which is too large to properly print out.

My question (the first of many): does anyone have or know where I can find a map of this relay board? I'm not even sure which relays/fuses to order at this point. I can get some things (wipers, dash lights, cigarette lighter, marker lights) to work by simply hooking up a battery, but I need to know if the other things don't work due to a lack of fuses and relays or (infinitely frustrating) wiring issues.

If you can help, that'd be fantastic. I will reward you all with interesting photos of the build accompanied by my delightful color commentary.

In eager anticipation,
Jacob.
dr914@autoatlanta.com
QUOTE(lordkobal @ May 14 2008, 12:14 PM) *