Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Flat towing a 914 -anything special I need to know?
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
scottz0369
Hello,
I'm retiring from the Marines this month and will be driving from California to Illinois (on 66 as much as possible).
I was going to rent a flatbed from UHaul to tow the 914, but my Cherokee doesn't meet thier weight requirements to do so, and a tow dolly will cost around $500 to rent.
Sooooooo I'm leaning toward the tow bracket from Rennmetal and doing it that way.

Is there anything special I need to know to tow it wheels on the ground for over 2000 miles? I'm a total newbie at this-don't be afraid to make it potato-head simple.
Any assistance appreciated!

Scott
davesprinkle
QUOTE(scottz0369 @ May 14 2008, 01:10 PM) *

Hello,
I'm retiring from the Marines this month and will be driving from California to Illinois (on 66 as much as possible).
I was going to rent a flatbed from UHaul to tow the 914, but my Cherokee doesn't meet thier weight requirements to do so, and a tow dolly will cost around $500 to rent.
Sooooooo I'm leaning toward the tow bracket from Rennmetal and doing it that way.

Is there anything special I need to know to tow it wheels on the ground for over 2000 miles? I'm a total newbie at this-don't be afraid to make it potato-head simple.
Any assistance appreciated!

Scott

I flat-towed my 914 1500 miles with no problems. It's easy and safe, assuming you observe a few caveats:

1. Ensure that the key is in the ignition and turned so that the steering wheel is free to turn. This will obviously require that you disconnect the battery.
2. Never, never, never back up. If you back up, you will likely damage the tow-bar, the front suspension, the front bumper, or all 3. If you find yourself in a situation where you must reverse, you should unhitch, move the vehicles separately, and re-hitch.
jcd914
I flat towed mine many times when it ran and I was auto-x'ing.
I had 2 problems: